ONTARIO.

mayor, a reeve, as many deputy-reeves as they may be entitled to under the provision previously quoted, and two or sometimes three councillors for each ward into which the town may be divided. Cities and certain towns are for municipal purposes separated from the county. The number of these separated municipalities is 30 according to the latest report on municipal statistics of the Ontario Bureau of Industries. They include the municipalities of Toronto, Ottawa, Hamilton, London, Brantford, Kingston, Peterborough, Windsor, Fort William, Berlin, Guelph, St. Thomas, Stratford, St. Catharines, Chatham, Galt, Sarnia, Belleville, Brockville, Woodstock, Niagara Falls and Smith's Falls.

Counties.—The members of the county councils are not elected directly by the municipal voters, but each council is composed of the reeves and deputy-reeves of the towns (other than the "separated towns") and of the villages and townships. The head or presiding officer of the county council is styled warden and is its chief executive officer. In general, the county council has charge of various matters which are common to more than one local municipality within the county, including, for instance, the control of highways, bridges, court-houses, gaols, houses of refuge, land registry offices, etc. The county rates are levied and collected through the constituent local municipalities. Provisions for the erection of one description of municipality into another, as for instance a village into a town, are laid down in the Municipal Act, and in this connection, for municipalities in districts that have not yet a county organization, the Railway and Municipal Board, has certain organizing and controlling powers. There are at present 38 county corporations. Four of these are composed of a union of counties, viz. (1) Leeds and Grenville, (2) Northumberland and Durham. (3) Prescott and Russell and (4) Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry.

Cities.—Cities are governed by councils composed of a mayor, the members of the board of control, if such a board exists, and two or three representatives of each ward who are styled aldermen. feature of city government is that by which much of the business of the city, and especially business of a financial character, is delegated to a board of control. The Municipal Act provides that the council of any city having a population of less than 100,000 but more than 45,000 may by by-law provide for the election by general vote of four controllers who with the mayor constitute a board of control. By the Municipal Amendment Act, 1915 (5 Geo. V, c. 34), this provision is made obligatory in all cities of Ontario having a population of not less than 100,000 and not more than 200,000. Power is granted to the council to pay salaries to the members of the board not exceeding for each member \$1,500 per annum. The duties of the board include the preparation of estimates, the awarding of contracts, the inspection of municipal works, the nomination of officers and their dismissal or suspension. The board reports to the council, and its action is subject to their approval or reversal; but the council may not make appropriations or expenditures of any sums not provided for by estimates of the board without a two-thirds vote, which is defined as the affirmative vote of two-thirds of the members present. Boards of control have been established in Toronto, Ottawa, Hamilton and London.